Firm Growth

I’ve been practicing public accounting as a solo since 2007 and each year my practice has experienced growth. I’ve never really advertised, seems to have grown organically through good service and referrals from happy clients.  A few months ago, I hired my first employee, my daughter Hannah Kucera.  Hannah earned an accounting degree from Tarleton State University in 2014 and has two years’ experience as a staff accountant at The Dwyer Group.  She is working part time for my firm and expecting her first baby any day now. Hannah plans on sitting for the CPA exam in the near future.  She’s an eager learner with a warm personality and she adds a youthful dimension to my practice.

In addition to hiring staff, I have taken our QuickBooks practice to the next level, by utilizing hosting from a remote site. While it’s a little pricey, the advantages far outweigh the cost. We are able to access our client’s QuickBooks files from any location by logging in online. In addition, it provides for automated backup and the off-site storage helps prevent data loss. The QuickBooks practice has grown considerably over the past several years, partly because I became a Certified QuickBooks Pro Advisor and partly from client referrals.  It is important to me to provide a safe and secure environment for our client’s financial records.

Another investment I recently made was the creation of the firms’ website, www.wacoaccounting.com. The new website will eventually take the place of my blog site, as blog posts can be added to the website to keep our content current. Once my subscription to Word Press expires in November, www.lisathetaxlady.com will be no more! I hope the folks who have subscribed to my blog will visit the new website to read my tax tips, IRS advice, small business updates, and other accounting news.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment